EASM Board Elections 2019

EASM Board Elections 2019

Considering the new EASM Statutes, all EASM Board positions (President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and 5 General Directors) are for re-election this year.

The EASM Nominations Committee, consisting of Per Göran Fahlstrom (Chair), Tracy Taylor, Anna Gerke, and Stefan Walzel, announces the following timeline for the EASM Board elections 2019:

1 May 2019                  Announcement of the timeline and process for nominations for Board positions

8 Jul 2019                   Notice of General Meeting / General Assembly

8 Jul 2019                   Call for nominations opens

25 Jul 2019                 Submission deadline for applicants and nominations (12 noon CET)

22 Aug 2019                Dissemination of candidates and voting information to all registered EASM members

29 Aug-4 Sep 19          Electronic voting period

5 Sep 2019                  AGM – elections held for any remaining vacant board position(s) (§ 7.1.5)

19 Sep 2019                Appointment of the EASM Board student member by the newly elected Board announced

17 Oct 2019                Appointment of Secretary General by the new elected EASM Board announced

Information on each position, including duties and length of term, as well as further information about the application process can be found here.


Important information regarding EASM membership status


According to the new EASM Statutes (§ 6.4.3) the membership year runs from 1st August until 31st July the following year. This means all current EASM memberships end automatically by 31stJuly 2019.
From now on, you can renew your membership for 1st August 2019 until 31st July 2020 online here.
From 2019 on the membership fee is not included in the conference fee. If you plan to attend the EASM Conference in Seville this year, you are not automatically a member of EASM.
Should you have any questions about the process or any of the vacant EASM Board positions, please contact Stefan Walzel via email at stefan.walzel@easm.net or at +49 221 49826093.

Please take note of the following specific paragraphs of the EASM Statutes:


Charters 8.2     The Board of EASM shall comprise eleven (11) persons being:

a) Eight (8) persons elected by the members of EASM;
b) A student member appointed by the elected Board members;
c) The ESMQ Editor appointed by the ESMQ Editorial Board; and
d) The Secretary General who shall be appointed by the Board.
The Board shall be constituted as set out in the Bye-Laws, but not more than 75% of the elected Board Members may be male and not more than 75% may be female. No one nation may ever have more than two of the elected members of the Board.

8.2 Balanced Board and Nationality

a) The General Assembly (and Nominations Committee in seeking candidates) should strive for geographical, national and gender equity and balance in the membership of the Board and
(i) At least 4 members of the Board shall be male and at least 4 members shall be female;
(ii) Not more than two of the elected members of the Board may be from any one nation.
b) A person’s Nationality shall be determined by their Passport or National Identity Card. In the event they hold two or more Passports or National Identity Cards, their nationality shall be deemed to be that of their place of birth and if no longer a nation then the place in which they are permanently domiciled. This definition of Nationality applies throughout this Charter.

8.6 Nominations

Nomination of candidates for election to the Board may be submitted by any two full or institutional members of EASM, who must be eligible to vote at the Annual General Meeting, provided that such nomination is deposited with the Secretary-General in writing not less than 42 days prior to the Annual General Meeting. The nomination should specify for which position on the Board the candidate has been nominated. A candidate may nominate for any number of positions on the Board but may only hold one position and must accept the first position to which they are elected.