Alberto Madella Scholarship

About the Scholarship

The Alberto Madella Scholarship Fund was created in recognition of the contribution to EASM and the field of sport management by our colleague Alberto Madella. The scholarship is designed to support current graduate students to participate in EASM conferences and help promote the work of the Association. The Awards Committee will make decisions based on participants’ needs and plans for contributing to the conference. The Alberto Madella Scholarship Fund allows students to apply for 500 Euros to help them attend the EASM Conference and EASM Student Seminar or EASM PhD Student Seminar.

Alberto Madella

Alberto Madella (1956 – 2008) was appointed an EASM Honorary Member in recognition of the commitment, enthusiasm and energy he demonstrated in the field of sport management. He worked for many years with EASM in various roles and served as General Secretary from 1996 to 2004. His passion for the subject and his dedication to teaching and research inspired many scholars, students and academics throughout the world.

Applicant criteria

All eligible students can apply for this scholarship. Send your complete application according to the proposal below before 31st of May to EASM office. EASM welcome applicants from all over the world, however, the Committee only provides scholarships to a maximum of one person per country, to ensure greater diversity in scholarship recipients. (Two of the three scholarships should be awarded to individuals from European countries.) The country of origin refers to the institution the individual is associated with.

How to apply

Please submit your application (proposal, CV, references etc.) as one pdf-file (max. 8 MB) via email to EASM Office by 31st of May 2024,

The EASM Awards Committee will inform all applicants with the decision before June 30th, 2024 via email.

Applicant proposal
  • Submit a brief proposal (max. 500 words, including your name, country of residence, current occupation or student status) outlining why you think you should be awarded the scholarship. Please refer to the criteria detailed below to indicate why you would be eligible for the funding. The proposal should:


  • You must submit an abstract to the conference.
  • Confirm that you are studying Sport Management in Higher Education (Diploma, Degree, Masters, PhD)
  • Outline the motivation for your attendance at the EASM Conference and/or respective Seminar
  • Indicate the expected outcome of the EASM Conference attendance for the future individual career, including the EASM Student Seminar or EASM PhD Student Seminar
  • Outline plans for disseminating learning from the conference attendance experience
  • Confirm that you are not able to attend the EASM Conference and/or EASM Student Seminar or PhD Student Seminar without this funding
Award Winners


Erika Gray


Piotr Pietras
Carlos Eugenio Zardini Filho


(Alternative format: for EASM Summer School due to the cancelled conference)

Makenna Thrasher
Sintija Misina
Aaron Nieder
Bettina Rodenberg
Olga Yurina
Marios Beqiri
Leopold Koch
C Deep Prakash


Samuel López Carril
Luiz Gustavo Nascimento Haas


Mahdieh Seraji


Charitomeni Tsordia
Kimberley Hardcastle
Seth Kirby


Nima Farajpour Bakhtiari
Veronica Lo Presti


Elisabeth Emana


Lilla Szijj
Ahmed Alafandi


Senjay Tewari


Javad Yousefian