Distinguished Service Award

About the award

The EASM Distinguished Service Award – recognises a member’s significant involvement and service to the work of EASM.
The accolade acknowledges the value and contribution made in fulfilling the aims and objectives of EASM within a voluntary capacity.

Criteria and Nomination Procedure

The nominee must meet the following:


  1. Served in a voluntary capacity to help fulfil the aims of EASM within a formal, recognised role (i.e., Board members, chair of scientific committee or other committee) ;
  2. Demonstrated professionalism, collegiality and expertise whilst undertaking various roles within EASM;
  3. Acted within a respectful manner, demonstrating the EASM values of inclusivity, collaboration, and integrity.



EASM members can nominate a worthy recipient by submitting a nomination package to the Chair of the Award Committee, Aila Ahonen (Aila.Ahonen@jamk.fi) before the 30th of June 2024, consisting of:


  • A letter of recommendation[no more than two pages] to the Award Committee chair that specifically describes the person’s accomplishments in relation to the award criteria. The letter should clearly identify the award the person is being nominated for, and justify why the person deserves the award.
  • We encourage up to three [no more than three] letters of support for inclusion in the nomination package.
  • A resume, CV or brief biography for the nominee (can be pulled from faculty webpage or other online source).


Nominators must be EASM members in good standing and should email the nomination to the Chair of the Award Committee. The Award Committee may subsequently request additional information from the nominator. All nominations will be assessed in confidence.

Award Winners
Stefan Walzel
Ulrik Wagner
Ruth Crabtree
Herbert Woratschek